Posted by: tksthoughts | Sunday, November 7, 2010

Day 13 → A band or artist that has gotten you through some tough ass days. (write a letter.)

Dear Alicia Keys,

What can I say? You seem to always know what to say and have the words to express what I was feeling and what I was thinking. You sang about love, you sang about hurt, you sang about being a strong woman. When I needed advice you were there. When I felt alone, you were there as another woman to say that I am not alone. You helped me express my inner most thoughts. You showed me it was okay to a strong woman and yet still be feminine and caring. 

I have to say honestly though that it has become a little hard to listen to you lately. I know that I don’t have the right to judge and I know that we don’t know the entire story but at the same time, if it walks like a duck, and it quack likes a duck….well……

I am disappointed that you were with a married man, you became “the other woman”, you caused some other woman the same pain that you sing about. How could you? I know that you could have anyone that you want – why him?  Why her man? I know they say you can’t help who you fall in love with but you can help who you get close to so love doesn’t happen. It is called self-discipline. Maybe you have heard about it?

Musically, thanks for the songs, thanks for the strength, thanks for being there those long nights.  Thanks for understanding what it was like “sleeping with a broken heart”.  You provided understanding when I thought I was all alone.

So while I love you, your music, and what you “normally” represent, woman to woman, I don’t understand.

Regards,

A confused fan

Leave a Reply

Categories

